Geezerfest, August 2007

Posted: August 11, 2011 in My Seattle-Related Concert Experiences

Back in 2007, I was still in the early stages of researching for what would eventually become The Strangest Tribe.  I decided to book my second Seattle research trip around a reunion festival called Geezerfest.  [Update per Rod Moody’s comment below.] Rod Moody (Swallow/Deranged Diction) put the event together, along with an assist from Rob Daily of Flotation Records.  Held at Seattle’s iconic Crocodile Cafe, the two-day event would feature late ’80s Seattle bands (or musicians) including:

Blood Circus, Coffin Break (one of my faves), Swallow, Capping Day, Valis (with Screaming Trees’ Van Conner), Snowbud and the Flower People (with Napalm Beach’s Chris Newman), Robert Roth (of Truly), From the North (with Malfunkshun’s Kevin Wood), Love Battery, Down With People (featuring the original members of Room Nine), Cat Butt (with my bud James Burdyshaw), the Green Pajamas, Lamar (with Nirvana’s Chad Channing), Spike (with Swallow’s Rod Moody), and others.

Two days of a zillion great bands was of course amazing.  I especially enjoyed Love Battery (since they are also one of my fave Seattle bands as well), watching Chad Channing play drums live, Coffin Break, Chris Newman, etc.  The event was also great for the book, since I got to meet and interview Chad, James Burdyshaw, Ron Rudzitis and Kevin Whitworth of Love Battery, eventually Tom Price of the U-Men (with James’ help), and a bunch of other folks.

Perhaps the most intriguing of those meet and greets was a gentleman named Michael Laton.  Michael provided image projections accompanying the psychedelic Down With People (and Room Nine back in the ’80s).  A generation before Seattle, Michael did projections for seminal ’60s San Francisco bands Big Brother & the Holding Company, the Grateful Dead, and others.  He provided a wonderful compare/contrast perspective between ’60s SF and ’80s Seattle.

I think this was the trip where I took a picture of the notorious Tad dead Juniper bush in the U-District…but I think I’ll hold onto that one for a while.

Update: I almost forgot one highlight.  During Robert Roth’s set, his band played a cover of “Blue Flame Ford,” off Truly’s Fast Stories…from Kid Coma.  It’s one of my all-time favorite songs, so if you haven’t heard it, please check it out.  (Note that Truly featured guitarist/vocalist Roth, bassist Hiro Yamamoto (Soundgarden), and drummer Mark Pickerel (Screaming Trees.)

Comments
  1. Rod from Swallow says:

    For the record, while Rob from Flotation had a hand in putting together Geezerfest, I secured the venue, booked most of the bands, talked them into reuniting, scheduled and coordinated the whole thing, figured out the budget and got the damn t-shirts made! Big credit & thanks to Rob for helping, but even he would admit that I did most of the work.

Leave a Reply

