My “Of Course” Story

Posted: August 26, 2011 in Offbeat Seattle-Related Music Stories

About a year ago, I was getting permissions for my book on Seattle music history…

I had to get approval to use lyrics from a Blackouts song.  The Blackouts were a standout Seattle band of the late ’70s/early ’80s.  In any event, to get the necessary permission, I emailed Olympia’s K Records, who put out a Blackouts retrospective a few years back.

A K rep emailed back, stating the label did not own the rights, but she would forward my request to Bill Rieflin, who played drums for the Blackouts.  I figured that would be the end of it, since Rieflin now plays with R.E.M.

About a week later, on a Saturday night, my wife, daughter, and I attended a synagogue bingo fundraiser.  The event was called “KINGO,” named after KI, the Temple’s initials.  Let it be known that I went to this event kicking and screaming.

About a half hour into the event, I checked my cell phone for the time, since I don’t wear a watch.  I noticed a message.  It was Rieflin, whose number came up as restricted and he left no way to get a hold of him.  My wife asked who called.  I said, “That was the drummer from R.E.M.  I missed his call, and I have no way to get ahold of him.”

Of Course

Leave a Reply

