Squirrels/Young Fresh Fellows/Roy Loney Show (4/28/12)

Posted: April 29, 2012 in My Seattle-Related Concert Experiences

I told my wife I would head to Seattle if any of the following bands would play/reunite: Red Dress, the U-Men, the Squirrels, and the Young Fresh Fellows.  Well, fortunately for me (and a whole lot of other people), the latter two bands gigged on one evening…last night at the Sunset Tavern in Ballard.

After my Sonic Boom signing earlier that day, I had a couple of hours to kill.  As I was stumbling around Ballard trying not to look too pathetic, I ran into writer/musician Dave O’Leary.  Dave wrote a semi-autobiographical novel called Horse Bite which came out around the same time as Strangest Tribe.  If you haven’t read it, please do.  Dave does a wonderful job taking the reader from bar to bar in Seattle, in search of permanence.  In any event, I enjoyed talking writing with Dave over a couple of beers.  Following that, I headed over to the Sunset.

The Squirrels, led by singer Rob Morgan, took the stage first. Accompanying Rob was drummer Tad Hutchison, guitarist/keyboardist Chuck Carroll, bassist Scott McCaughey, and guitarist Jim Sangster.  Rob may be the most entertaining front man you’ll ever see, so if you ever get the chance to watch him perform, put it on your must-do list.

I saw the Squirrels rehearse the night before, so this set would be an extra treat (before I forget, at rehearsal the band had been working on a song called “I Hate Getting Up in the Morning” by Johnny Kidd & the Pirates.  Rob decided to rename it “I Can’t Get It Up in the Morning” as befitting the 2012 version of the Squirrels.)  Needless to say, Rob and the guys killed…and there’s this one Johnny Kidd song they did, and I can’t find the name of it, but I totally love it…Rob, please help.  Has this dramatic riff, like DAH DAH DAH DAH-DAH DAH-DAH. (Update: it’s “Restless.”  Thanks, Rob.)

At the end of their set, the legendary Roy Loney (of the Flamin’ Groovies) joined the band for a few songs.

Between the Squirrels and the Fellows set, I said hi to some folks, including Dawn Anderson (my favorite Seattle writer); author Charles Cross, and Mudhoney’s Mark Arm, who apparently is a big Loney fan (this was of course after the Seattle Weekly decided to print my book quote where I say Mark “wasn’t cute enough.”  Ugh.)

Then the Fellows took the stage, joined by the incomparable Kurt Bloch on guitar.  The Fellows without Kurt?  Awesome.  The Fellows with Kurt?  Take “awesome” and add 5-Hour Energy.  Despite being past fifty, Kurt has more vigor than most of us put together.  I loved every minute of it of course, especially when I got to hear “Rock ‘N’ Roll Pest Control” for the second time in one day.

After the Fellows’ set, I stepped outside and chatted with Rod Moody (the Fuzz, Swallow, Deranged Diction), as well as Rob Morgan and some other folks.  Then, it hit me.  After bouncing around for three hours, I was completely spent…and I had my bed on speed dial.  So, I went home and missed out on the Roy Loney & the Longshots set.  (Yes, guys, I know I suck.)  Regardless, the show was well worth the trip.

Comments
  1. Rob Morgan says:

    Thank you for the kind words, Mr. Tow. Glad you could make it- it was a pretty magic night, fer sure. Not bad for the first set with that line-up in 28 years (phew!). Too bad you had to crash- Roy was AMAZING (as usual). Oh, & I believe the song you are referning to is “Restless”. It’s on both our first LP & the “Scrapin’ For Hits” collection. JOHNNY KIDD LIVES!!! 🙂

  2. Stephen Tow says:

    “Restless.” That’s it. Thanks, Rob.

Leave a Reply

