Sub Pop 20 Casual Nostalgia Fest CD

Posted: July 25, 2012 in Green River Reunion Show, July 2008

A little while back,  I picked up the official CD of the Sub Pop 20th Anniversary show at, where else, Doylestown PA’s Siren Records.  The festival was held on July 12 and 13, 2008 at Marymoor Park in Redmond, Washington.  I showed up the second afternoon to see the Green River reunion, as I’ve mentioned earlier in this blog.  So, it was pretty cool to finally listen to a representation of the bands as I drove to work yesterday (but why no No Age?).

So, with that, here are my fave cuts:

1) Green River, “Leech.” Just hearing Mark Arm’s “Willie Dixon of grunge” comment makes this a worthwhile listen.  I was in the crowd when Mark made that statement, and I’m thinking about 10% of the audience got the joke, and I was one of them.  This song is absolutely 100% pure grunge.  How do I know? Give it a listen and see.

2) Beachwood Sparks, “You Take the Gold.” Country? No way, couldn’t be.  Sounds great, though.

3) Blitzen Trapper, “Furr.” Wait, country again? Folk?  Are you nuts? Yeah, and it again sounds great.

4) Flight of the Conchords, “Carol Brown.” These guys are fucking funny.  I saw them on some TV show before I even knew about their association with Sub Pop.

5) Iron and Wine, “Woman King.”  I like this dude.  Has a nice acoustic guitar riff going here.

6) Seaweed, “Baggage.” Grunge lite, I know, but what a great fucking song. (Update: Every time I listen to this song, it seems to automatically segue into “Polly” in my head. Then, in my unabashed brilliance, I figured out why…the main riff of “Baggage” has the same chord progression as the verse to “Polly.”)

7) Kinski, “The Wives of Artie Shaw.”  Wonderful instrumental that rocks.

8) Grand Archives, “Dig That Crazy Grave.”  This song’s story-telling, folky feel reminds me a little of the Walkabouts.

(Green River…I figured I’d pick a shot where Bruce isn’t cut off…from left: Bruce Fairweather (Love Battery); Jeff Ament (Pearl Jam); Mark Arm (Mudhoney); Alex Shumway (Spluii Numa); Not pictured: Stone Gossard (PJ); Steve Turner (Mudhoney.)

Comments
  1. Liz says:

    Seaweed is cool 😉 call it what ya want!
    I’m not a huge Iron and Wine fan, but his George Michael cover was good:
    http://www.avclub.com/articles/iron-and-wine-covers-george-michael,53063/

  2. Stephen Tow says:

    Just realized why I like the riff to “Baggage.” It’s basically the same chord progression and turnaround as “Polly.”

Leave a Reply

